Waiting on Wednesday 22

January 16, 2013 Bookish 2

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that allows readers to showcase eagerly awaited upcoming releases.

This week I’ve picked Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan

  • Expected publication: April 16th 2013 by Orbit Books (Hachette AU)
  • Format: Hardback, 560 pages
  • Series: The Power Mage Trilogy, Book 1
  • ISBN13: 9780316219037 ISBN10: 0316219037
  • Goodreads / The Book Depository

The Age of Kings is dead . . . and I have killed it.

Field Marshal Tamas’ coup against his king sent corrupt aristocrats to the guillotine and brought bread to the starving. But it also provoked war with the Nine Nations, internal attacks by royalist fanatics, and greedy scrambling for money and power by Tamas’s supposed allies: the Church, workers unions, and mercenary forces. Stretched to his limit, Tamas is relying heavily on his few remaining powder mages, including the embittered Taniel, a brilliant marksman who also happens to be his estranged son, and Adamat, a retired police inspector whose loyalty is being tested by blackmail.

Now, as attacks batter them from within and without, the credulous are whispering about omens of death and destruction. Just old peasant legends about the gods waking to walk the earth. No modern educated man believes that sort of thing. But they should…

I’ve been looking into reading more high fantasy lately, and this is one the books I’m most excited about. Promise of Blood looks amazing, perfect for fans of Sanderson and Rothfuss in my opinion. And I like the cover!

I’d love to see what you are waiting on … please leave links and I’ll be sure to check them out!

2 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday 22”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge