Posts Categorized: ARC

Divider

Half A King by Joe Abercrombie

Half A King by Joe Abercrombie

July 23, 2014 Reviews 6 ★★★★½

The world of Abercrombie's The First Law is famous for its grit and darkness, and I know that many fans were a bit worried when he announced that he's writing a YA novel set in a whole new world. I don't know why they were worried - Abercrombie proves that he is a skilled and adaptable writer with Half a King, and I think the Shattered Sea novels will be a favourite with varied audiences.

This is the story of Prince Yarvi of Gettland, the second son of King Uthil, born with a deformed hand and scorned as a cripple...

Divider

Bound by Alan Baxter

Bound by Alan Baxter

July 10, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★★

I’ve enjoyed Bound a lot and encourage readers who like their urban fantasy dark and gritty to pick it up. Fans of Butcher and Wendig won’t be disappointed.

Divider

On the Fence by Kasie West

On the Fence by Kasie West

July 7, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★★½

This lovely author can do no wrong! On the Fence is a cute story about Charlie, a total tom-boy who has grown up with three brothers and her father, and her next door neighbour Braden, who’s always been like a fourth brother to her (but not for long!)

Divider

Divider

Take Back the Skies by Lucy Saxon

Take Back the Skies by Lucy Saxon

June 2, 2014 Reviews 1 ★★

Take Back the Skies has, on the surface, all the elements to make it an instant hit among the young and the old, but its poor execution lets it down at almost every turn, and I was quite disappointed with it.

Divider

The Castle Behind Thorns by Merrie Haskell

The Castle Behind Thorns by Merrie Haskell

May 26, 2014 Reviews 2 ★★★★½

This beautifully written story is perfect for readers just entering their teens, or for those who want to relive the metamorphosis from child to something else. I think The Castle Behind Thorns will ensnare all who pick it up, and can’t really recommend it enough.

Divider

Divider

All the Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry

All the Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry

April 4, 2014 Reviews 1 ★★★★

This is a brilliant, brilliant book, and I am extremely annoyed I held myself back with it. It’s a raw, emotive narrative about Judith, who went missing with her best friend two years ago. Judith returned, Lottie didn’t.

Divider

The Last God Standing by Michael Boatman

The Last God Standing by Michael Boatman

March 19, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★

The Last God Standing caught my eye because of its intriguing premise – God tries out life as a mortal (a comedian to boot), but his plans to make it big and impress his girlfriend’s father keep getting derailed because older, now defunct Gods are trying to kill him. Honestly…

Divider

Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell

Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell

March 12, 2014 Reviews 5 ★★★★½

I haven’t loved a book this much in ages! Reminiscent of The Three Musketeers, humour, swordplay, intrigue and a hint of magic are carefully balanced in this fun and exciting début. The book is highly entertaining, full of adventure and lots of laughs.

Divider

Split Second by Kasie West

Split Second by Kasie West

January 23, 2014 Reviews 1 ★★★★★

West has followed up her incredible début Pivot Point with a thrilling sequel in Split Second, which picks up a few weeks after Addie makes her life-changing decision to stay with her mother instead of leaving the Compound where all paranormally gifted people live, hidden from the Norms. A recap:…

Divider