Publisher: HachetteAU

Divider

Those Below by Daniel Polansky

Those Below by Daniel Polansky

December 31, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★

It was hard to let go of Those Below. So hard that I delayed reading the last ten or so pages until I was dangerously close to allowing 2016 to end before I turned the last page. I love this world, I love these characters, and I'm sad that it's over.

The second book in Polansky's duology, Those Below takes up two years after Those Above ended and reunites readers with a widely varied cast at the cusp of changing the world. They have each grown and changed in interesting ways and the Great and Terrible Deeds hinted at in...

Divider

Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

June 24, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★½

Cruel Crown is a bind of two novellas set in the world of Red Queen. These novellas open up the world and allow us a glimpse into two fascinating characters – Queen Coriane (Cal’s mother) and Farley.

Divider

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

February 1, 2016 Reviews 4 ★★★★

I found a lot to like in Glass Sword. It wasn’t perfect, but it was a stronger sequel by far. It rose above the admittedly low bar that Red Queen had set. A good sequel that builds and expands on the foundations of its predecessor.

Divider

Those Above by Daniel Polansky

Those Above by Daniel Polansky

January 22, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★★

Firstly, isn’t that cover gorgeous? It’s what drew me to Those Above in the first place, that beautiful cover with a giant sword that screamed Read Me. And I was further enthralled when I read the synopsis. A human uprising against the Gods? Sign me up. I really enjoyed Those Above. It has moments of brilliance where it transcends expectations, and at all other times is an entertaining and glorious read. I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel!

Divider

Divider

Audiobook Review: Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

Audiobook Review: Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

January 4, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★★★

“This book will break your feelings. Shatter them, then stomp on the resulting little pieces. And you’ll love every moment of it.” There were times where I listened with tears in my eyes. Everything about this book is beautiful, exquisite, and agonising, and the audiobook version is even more so because Khristine Hvam is such a skilled narrator.

Divider

Audiobook Review: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

Audiobook Review: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

October 23, 2015 Reviews 3 ★★★★★

Again, I’ve been absolutely blown away by the experience. Khristine Hvam narrates this complex and beautiful take superbly. I loved the voices she gave the characters. Especially Zuzana. She captures the hurt and loss felt by both Karou and Akiva brilliantly. I feel like the really gets the story, the characters, and the world.

Divider

Divider

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

April 2, 2015 Reviews 1 ★★★★★

Firefight is a wonderful sequel to the heart-stopping Steelheart, delivering all the action, adventure, and fun that readers will expect. It’s an explosive adventure that captured my imagination, and has left me sad that I have to wait so long for the next instalment, Calamity.

Divider

Beauty by Sarah Pinborough

Beauty by Sarah Pinborough

March 30, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Another enchanting and dark fairytale by Sarah Pinborough, Beauty is set before Charm and Poison and allows us to understand those stories a lot better. It introduces us to the prince, the huntsman, a very curious girl, and a deeply disturbing castle.

Divider

Charm by Sarah Pinborough

Charm by Sarah Pinborough

March 26, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★½

Brilliantly reimagined and haunting, Charm is a dark and sexy retelling of the Cinderella fairytale with an incredible twist. Charm is a brilliant retelling of Cinderella that takes the well known tale to a whole new level. I am thoroughly enjoying this series and can’t wait to see where the next instalment, Beauty, takes us.

Divider