Publisher: HarperCollins

Divider

Aerie by Maria Dahvana Headley

Aerie by Maria Dahvana Headley

November 22, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Remember how much I loved Magonia? I waxed lyrical about it, I forced it on my friends, I think I even recommended to it a stranger at my local Dymocks. The wait for Aerie has been agonising, but I finally got my hands on it last week. And it did not disappoint! Told in dual point-of-view, Aerie takes up with Ava and Jason almost a year after Magonia. They've settled into some approximation of normalcy, but how normal can things be when one of you is a bird-hybrid alien and the other an anxiety ridden teen? In many ways, Aerie...

Divider

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

July 24, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★★★

The first book in The Nevernight Chronicle, Nevernight is the kind of book you line up for. It’s a superbly crafted story that had me hooked from the very first chapter.

Divider

Divider

Broken Sky by L. A. Weatherly

Broken Sky by L. A. Weatherly

February 22, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★½

I enjoyed Broken Sky, the first book in The Broken Trilogy from the very first page. Something about it just grabbed me. The setting and the concepts it explored were interesting, and the protagonist was awesome.

Divider

Divider

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

January 6, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★★½

I loved A Thousand Pieces of You. I ranted and raved about it and practically forced it into the hands of every unsuspecting friend and acquaintance I had. And I’m happy to report that I loved the sequel just as much. Claudia Gray knows how to write a book!

Divider

Half a War by Joe Abercrombie

Half a War by Joe Abercrombie

August 24, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Half the War concludes the journey we embarked on with Yarvi in Half a King, bringing his tale to its stunning conclusion and reminding us why we love to read Abercrombie’s stories so much. This novel encapsulates the best of Joe’s writing and world-building, and has left me awed and wanting more.

Divider

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

June 15, 2015 Reviews 4 ★★★★★

Magonia is one of the most beautiful books I’ve had the pleasure of reading in a long time. The prose, the characters, the world-building, everything about it is simply gorgeous.

Divider

The Heir by Kiera Cass

The Heir by Kiera Cass

May 28, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★

I liked The Heir, I think it takes the idea of The Selection and does something new and different with it. I liked getting to know Eadlyn and her siblings, and seeing all my old(er) favourites from the original series.

Divider

Divider

Interview: Joe Abercrombie

Interview: Joe Abercrombie

March 27, 2015 Bookish 3

Joe Abercrombie *squeal* recently visited Australia and I was very lucky to have the opportunity to sit down and talk to him about his newest release, Half the World, the second book in his YA series The Shattered Sea.

Divider