Posts Categorized: ARC

Divider

Blog Tour: Freeks by Amanda Hocking

Blog Tour: Freeks by Amanda Hocking

February 6, 2017 Blog Tour 0

Hi! I'm sharing a short QnA with Amanda Hocking today, who is the author of many awesome books including the upcoming Freeks. But first, a little about the book: QnA with Amanda Hocking Out of all the characters you’ve ever written, are there any standout characters you would revisit if you had the chance? Lydia and Marcy from the Wateresong series. They were both side characters, but in my mind, they have a bunch of side missions going on after the end of series. I thought writing supernatural Nancy Drew with Lydia as the sleuth, saving paranormal creatures from each...

Divider

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

July 24, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★★★

The first book in The Nevernight Chronicle, Nevernight is the kind of book you line up for. It’s a superbly crafted story that had me hooked from the very first chapter.

Divider

Marked by Sue Tingey

Marked by Sue Tingey

February 3, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★

I feel oddly duped by Marked. I was expecting a paranormal-urban fantasy with some detective/crime vibes, and what I got was a paranormal romance that reminded me of the Merry Gentry books by Laurell K. Hamilton.

Divider

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

February 1, 2016 Reviews 4 ★★★★

I found a lot to like in Glass Sword. It wasn’t perfect, but it was a stronger sequel by far. It rose above the admittedly low bar that Red Queen had set. A good sequel that builds and expands on the foundations of its predecessor.

Divider

Divider

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

January 6, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★★½

I loved A Thousand Pieces of You. I ranted and raved about it and practically forced it into the hands of every unsuspecting friend and acquaintance I had. And I’m happy to report that I loved the sequel just as much. Claudia Gray knows how to write a book!

Divider

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

November 5, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★½

Kelsea, now firmly settled into her role as the Queen of the Tear, is now preparing for war with the neighbouring kingdom of Mortmesme. The Invasion of the Tearling begins with an incursion into the disputed territory between the two kingdoms and ends with a siege. But the invasion and the accompanying war is only one element in this complicated book, and I’ve loved how Johansen wove all the different threads together to create a masterpiece of a story.

Divider

Half a War by Joe Abercrombie

Half a War by Joe Abercrombie

August 24, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Half the War concludes the journey we embarked on with Yarvi in Half a King, bringing his tale to its stunning conclusion and reminding us why we love to read Abercrombie’s stories so much. This novel encapsulates the best of Joe’s writing and world-building, and has left me awed and wanting more.

Divider

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

June 15, 2015 Reviews 4 ★★★★★

Magonia is one of the most beautiful books I’ve had the pleasure of reading in a long time. The prose, the characters, the world-building, everything about it is simply gorgeous.

Divider

Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

May 18, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★

It was delightful to get back to Yelena and Valek after so long, and Shadow Study proves that the magic of some worlds and their characters only strengthens with time. This book is a wonderful beginning to a kick-ass new series that introduces us to a new threat, some new…

Divider

Half Wild by Sally Green

Half Wild by Sally Green

April 8, 2015 Reviews 1 ★★★★

Half Wild is the follow-up to Half Bad. This series follows Nathan Byrn, a half-White and half-Black witch in a world where the two hate each other and don’t usually mix. The fact that Nathan’s father is the most notorious and dangerous Black witch in existence doesn’t help the matter.

Divider