Posts Categorized: Hardcover

Divider

Tyrant’s Throne by Sebastien de Castell

Tyrant’s Throne by Sebastien de Castell

January 23, 2021 Reviews 0 ★★

A quartet that should've been a trilogy, the Greatcoats series concludes with Tyrant's Throne, a repetitive, drawn-out mess that managed to make a war boring. The most ridiculous aspect of this book (and it was a struggle to pick one) is that none of the characters has learned anything. They face the same problems, make the same decisions, and wonder why they face the same failures. Falcio, in particular, continues to be an utter fool. There was little to no growth on his side, and in the end, his foolish outlook was rewarded. And the main conflict in the book...

Divider

Saint’s Blood by Sebastien de Castell

Saint’s Blood by Sebastien de Castell

December 28, 2020 Reviews 0 ★★★

In Saint’s Blood, the third instalment of the Greatcoats series, our heroes Falcio, Kest and Brasti struggle to save their country from an ever-growing threat.┬áTheir enemies are smarter and stronger, the world is darker, and the stakes have never been higher. While enjoyable, this book felt repetitive and confused, and like the main characters, I mostly felt tired while reading it.

Divider

Knight’s Shadow by Sebastien de Castell

Knight’s Shadow by Sebastien de Castell

December 26, 2020 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Knight’s Shadow is a darker, more twisted tale than Traitor’s Blade, but I thoroughly enjoyed where de Castell is taking his heroes. A highly entertaining read that I recommend to those who enjoy a good adventure.

Divider

Divider

Divider

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

September 7, 2015 Reviews 2 ★★★★★

Reading The Raven Cycle is painful. But it’s a beautiful kind of pain that I, and many other readers, keep going back for. The lush world building, intriguing characters, and superb plotting suck people in and refuse to let them go. Blue Lily, Lily Blue is a masterpiece. It’s brilliant, evocative, vivid, and, above all, magical.

Divider

Beauty by Sarah Pinborough

Beauty by Sarah Pinborough

March 30, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Another enchanting and dark fairytale by Sarah Pinborough, Beauty is set before Charm and Poison and allows us to understand those stories a lot better. It introduces us to the prince, the huntsman, a very curious girl, and a deeply disturbing castle.

Divider

Charm by Sarah Pinborough

Charm by Sarah Pinborough

March 26, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★½

Brilliantly reimagined and haunting, Charm is a dark and sexy retelling of the Cinderella fairytale with an incredible twist. Charm is a brilliant retelling of Cinderella that takes the well known tale to a whole new level. I am thoroughly enjoying this series and can’t wait to see where the next instalment, Beauty, takes us.

Divider

Poison by Sarah Pinborough

Poison by Sarah Pinborough

March 24, 2015 Reviews 1 ★★★★½

“A wicked, delicious, sexy Snow White fairytale.” Poison is a scrumptious retelling of a classic tale that re-imagines the world and the circumstances of our beloved characters. Pinborough’s evil queen is more sympathetic than expected and her Snow White is adventurous and sassy.

Divider

Divider

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

December 28, 2014 Reviews 4 ★★★★½

City of Stairs is an outstanding example of fantasy literature that I have enjoyed immensely. Well-plotted and vividly imagined, Bennett takes readers into a world full of magic, political strife, and (occasionally) murder.

Divider