Posts Categorized: Paperback

Divider

Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier

Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier

January 27, 2021 Reviews 0 ★★★

Dreamer's Pool is a grim but atmospheric novel that weaves magic and mystery into a vivid tale in a medieval setting. Blackthorn and Grim are an unlikely pair, making a new start at the edge of a forest after escaping prison.

Although I usually enjoy Marillier's novels, the narration in this one kept me at arms-length from the action. I felt detached from the story for at least two-thirds of the novel. In part, this is because the three POV characters -- each flawed in some way -- were difficult for me to connect with. They lacked depth and failed...

Divider

Bloodwitch by Susan Dennard

Bloodwitch by Susan Dennard

June 5, 2020 Reviews 2 ★★★★★

The third instalment in the Witchlands series, Bloodwitch is an thrilling adventure that I struggled to put down. The stakes are ever-higher, the world and its mythology ever-expanding,

Divider

Sightwitch by Susan Dennard

Sightwitch by Susan Dennard

June 4, 2020 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Sightwitch is a clever prequel told from Ryber Fortiza’s point of view that sheds light into the events of Truthwitch and Windwitch. Although it’s a prequel, I think readers are best placed to read it after the first two full-length novels.

Divider

The Secret Runners of New York by Matthew Reilly

The Secret Runners of New York by Matthew Reilly

April 26, 2019 Reviews 0 ★★½

I’m a massive fan of Reilly’s books. I preordered this book the moment it was available for preorder, picked it up on release day, and read it in one sitting. The Secret Runners of New York combines time travel with high school, following Skye Rogers as she starts at a…

Divider

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

March 18, 2019 Reviews 0 ★★★★

The third instalment in this series begins almost immediately where The Mime Order left off – with Paige coming to grips with the deception that had been revealed to her. But her tenuous grip on the Mime Order and uneasy alliance with there Rephaim leave her with very little time to recover, especially when a new threat is revealed.

Divider

Divider

Divider

Divider

Isadora by Charlotte McConaghy

Isadora by Charlotte McConaghy

March 28, 2017 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Isadora is everything I wanted for the last instalment of The Chronicles of Kaya. It was brilliantly written and emotional, and I raced through it in two sittings. Falco and Isadora are probably my favourite pair from this series.

Divider

To the Sea by Christine Dibley

To the Sea by Christine Dibley

January 22, 2017 Reviews 0 ★★★★

A gorgeous contemporary novel set in Tasmania, To the Sea was the perfect holiday read for me. Told in multiple points of view over the days between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, it conveys a beautiful story spanning generations.

Divider

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

January 16, 2017 Reviews 1 ★★★★½

I devoured Windwitch. It was almost impossible to put down from the very first page!! I think this series is perfect for fans of YA fantasy and a must read for anyone who enjoyed Truthwitch.

Divider