Genre: Science Fiction

Divider

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian by Andy Weir

January 29, 2021 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

A book that features maths and potatoes. Can't get much better, can it?

Weir combines a fascinating premise with witty and humorous narration to weave a tale of human ingenuity and survival against the worst odds -- an entire planet trying to kill one astrobotanist. The use of Watney's mission logs, transcripts and letters as a narration tool was especially clever, allowing the author to balance the action between Mars, Earth, and the Hermes.

The plot wasn't a surprise (I watched the movie first) but the storytelling was. The mathematical and engineering problems captured my imagination -- there's a sense...

Divider

The Secret Runners of New York by Matthew Reilly

The Secret Runners of New York by Matthew Reilly

April 26, 2019 Reviews 0 ★★½

I’m a massive fan of Reilly’s books. I preordered this book the moment it was available for preorder, picked it up on release day, and read it in one sitting. The Secret Runners of New York combines time travel with high school, following Skye Rogers as she starts at a…

Divider

Divider

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Winter by Marissa Meyer

November 14, 2016 Reviews 3 ★★★★★

I’ve had a wonderful, wonderful time with Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Winter, and I’m sad to let them go … but I do have the novellas in Stars Above to look forward to! The idea of blending science fiction, fairy tales, and Sailor Moon may sound odd (I was sceptical at first), but I urge readers to give the series a chance. I don’t think you’ll regret it.

Divider

Divider

The Next Together by Lauren James

The Next Together by Lauren James

January 18, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★★

I’m a sucker for reincarnation stories, so I’ve been looking forward to reading this since I heard about it. I loved The Next Together – the concept is amazing and the execution is brilliant! I loved every moment of my time with all the different versions of Katherine and Matthew. The Next Together transcends the traditional boundaries of genre to give readers a unique story.

Divider

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

January 8, 2016 Reviews 4 ★★★★★

Iluminae has to be one of the cleverest books I’ve read in a long time. It’s a brilliantly crafted story that has everything – a terrifying AI, an interstellar war, explosions in space, romance, and dark humour. With its gorgeous artwork and unusual presentation, Iluminae is a feast for the eyes. It’s a vivid, emotional, exciting read that will hook most readers.

Divider

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

January 6, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★★½

I loved A Thousand Pieces of You. I ranted and raved about it and practically forced it into the hands of every unsuspecting friend and acquaintance I had. And I’m happy to report that I loved the sequel just as much. Claudia Gray knows how to write a book!

Divider

Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Fairest by Marissa Meyer

February 18, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★½

I never thought I’d sympathise with Levana. She’s been this amorphous blob of evil in The Lunar Chronicles for three books, and although I never doubted that her past would make an interesting story, I certainly didn’t think it would make me understand her.

Divider

Catalyst by S. J. Kincaid

Catalyst by S. J. Kincaid

January 13, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Catalyst is the final instalment of the amazing science fiction series that began with Insignia. Tom Raines faces new challenges in this book and faces them with his usual combination of bravery and brashness.

Divider

Binary by Stephanie Saulter

Binary by Stephanie Saulter

December 2, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

The sequel to Gemsigns has blown me away. Binary is grander and more sophisticated than its predecessor, but lacks none of its heart and brilliance. Binary accomplishes what few sequels do in surpassing its predecessor in every way.

Divider