Publisher: Allen & Unwin

Divider

Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

February 5, 2016 Reviews 3 ★★★★★

I don't know what to do with myself right now. I can't wrap my head around the fact that the Starbound series is over. These Broken Stars had a huge impact on me - I loved it from the first page and the sequel was more glorious than I'd ever expected. So of course, I approached Their Fractured Light with extreme wariness. I hate saying goodbye to things I love. As usual, it is the characters that really MAKE this book for me. Sofia Quinn is ... ugh ... I just wanted to hug her! She's an amazing con artist,...

Divider

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

January 8, 2016 Reviews 4 ★★★★★

Iluminae has to be one of the cleverest books I’ve read in a long time. It’s a brilliantly crafted story that has everything – a terrifying AI, an interstellar war, explosions in space, romance, and dark humour. With its gorgeous artwork and unusual presentation, Iluminae is a feast for the eyes. It’s a vivid, emotional, exciting read that will hook most readers.

Divider

The Last Place by Michael Adams

The Last Place by Michael Adams

August 5, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★

The Last Place is the fast-paced, intense, and thrilling conclusion to a spellbinding trilogy. Michael Adams has achieved what few authors can – a thoughtful and enthralling exploration of humanity and the human psyche in the face of an apocalyptic disaster.

Divider

Resonance by Celine Kiernan

Resonance by Celine Kiernan

July 28, 2015 Reviews 1 ★★★★

Resonance is a smorgasbord of delights, offering gothic fantasy, historical fiction, and horror in one 450 page novel that will readers spellbound. It certainly gripped me – I read it one sitting on a Sunday afternoon.

Divider

Every Move by Ellie Marney

Every Move by Ellie Marney

April 15, 2015 Reviews 1 ★★★★

The last instalment of Ellie Marney’s Every series has left me conflicted and sad. Although it’s hard to say good-bye to Mycroft and Watts, it’s probably for the best because I didn’t really like the way this book turned out.

Divider

Divider

Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer

Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer

January 12, 2015 Reviews 4 ★★★½

Sacrifice is the final book in the Elementals series by Brigid Kemmerer. When we met the Merrick brothers in Storm, they were a very different group of young men than the ones we hang out with in this book.

Divider

This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

November 25, 2014 Reviews 1 ★★★★★

This Shattered World is a perfect follow-up to These Broken Stars, and I don’t think that fans of the latter will be disappointed in the sequel. It has progressed the series arc while introducing us to a new world and new characters, and has set us up for a great final confrontation (which will happen on Corinth).

Divider

Every Word by Ellie Marney

Every Word by Ellie Marney

October 30, 2014 Reviews 2 ★★★★★

We take up with Mycroft and Watts some eight weeks after Every Breath, when news from London sets a new sleuthing adventure in motion for the troubled duo. Every Word is a gripping crime-thiller that builds on the foundations laid down in Every Breath, and is every bit as exciting and engaging as its predecessor.

Divider

This Night So Dark by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

This Night So Dark by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

October 27, 2014 Reviews 2 ★★★★★

This Night So Dark tells us how Tarver became a Major in the army, and why he was all over the news when we met him in These Broken Stars. Tarver and Lilac, who are living together after the events of These Broken Stars, are talking about that eventful night because Tarver still has nightmares about it. And in the retelling, they realise that those events are connected to the crash of the Icarus and all that happened afterwards.

Divider

Divider