Publisher: Gollancz

Divider

Beauty by Sarah Pinborough

Beauty by Sarah Pinborough

March 30, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Another enchanting and dark fairytale by Sarah Pinborough, Beauty is set before Charm and Poison and allows us to understand those stories a lot better. It introduces us to the prince, the huntsman, a very curious girl, and a deeply disturbing castle.

Beauty is a brilliant mixture of Beauty and the Beast and Sleeping Beauty, with many other fairy-tales thrown in to surprise and delight readers. It may come across as a confused mess to some readers, but I liked how Pinborough wove all the different tales into a riveting story.

As with the other books, it's the characters who...

Divider

Charm by Sarah Pinborough

Charm by Sarah Pinborough

March 26, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★½

Brilliantly reimagined and haunting, Charm is a dark and sexy retelling of the Cinderella fairytale with an incredible twist. Charm is a brilliant retelling of Cinderella that takes the well known tale to a whole new level. I am thoroughly enjoying this series and can’t wait to see where the next instalment, Beauty, takes us.

Divider

Poison by Sarah Pinborough

Poison by Sarah Pinborough

March 24, 2015 Reviews 1 ★★★★½

“A wicked, delicious, sexy Snow White fairytale.” Poison is a scrumptious retelling of a classic tale that re-imagines the world and the circumstances of our beloved characters. Pinborough’s evil queen is more sympathetic than expected and her Snow White is adventurous and sassy.

Divider

The Fell Sword by Miles Cameron

The Fell Sword by Miles Cameron

January 20, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★

The Fell Sword is a great sequel to Cameron’s fantasy début The Red Knight, expanding the world and delving deeper into its history, introducing us to new characters and giving us the tools to understand our favourites better, farewelling a few characters, and most importantly, giving a glimpse into the grand scale of the five book Traitor Son cycle.

Divider

Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson

Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson

January 5, 2015 Reviews 1 ★★★★★

Words of Radiance is absolutely breathtaking, and fantasy fans are missing out if they’re not already reading The Stormlight Archive. I love this story-world and its characters, and am excited because there are eight more books to come! I can’t wait to see what Sanderson dishes up next!

Divider

Mitosis by Brandon Sanderson

Mitosis by Brandon Sanderson

November 27, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

This story expertly re-orients readers in the world Sanderson created in Steelheart, and gears us up for the followup which is coming out next year. If you like YA fantasy then I strongly encourage you to pick up Steelheart.

Divider

The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss

The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss

November 13, 2014 Reviews 1 ★★★★★

Auri is a gentle, beautiful, wondrous soul, and her adventure in this novella is heart-warming. I loved every page. I loved getting to know the hidden places that only she visits. I loved discovering a completely new place, naming it, and arranging it so it was just so. I loved the illustrations that made this book so sweet.

Divider

Divider

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris

March 27, 2014 Reviews 6 ★★★★½

This is the story of the Norse Gods told from Loki’s point of view. The Gospel of Loki is narrated in first person in an easy, conversational style using contemporary language. It is entertaining, humourous and brilliantly conceptualised, and readers will be hard pressed not to fall in love with every page, with every word.

Divider

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

October 21, 2013 Reviews 1

The gods have smiled upon us and brought us some Sanderson goodness before the release of Words or Radiance next year! Steelheart is an exquisite accomplishment – all the best of Brandon’s writing, world building and characterisation in an action-packed, diabolically clever book. While happily marketed as YA, Steelheart will…

Divider

The Red Knight by Miles Cameron

The Red Knight by Miles Cameron

September 16, 2013 Reviews 1 ★★★★

This is going to be a difficult book to review, because there were times I loved it, times I hated it, times I was absolutely engaged in the story and times when I was bored senseless. An ambitious début, The Red Knight uses the well-used tropes of medieval epic fantasy…

Divider