Publisher: HarperCollins

Divider

Jul 07
The Great Bazaar and Brayan’s Gold by Peter V. Brett

The Great Bazaar and Brayan’s Gold by Peter V. Brett

Reviews 2 ★★★★

These two short stories take place within the time frame of The Painted Man and almost read like outtakes from the novel. But Brett has ensured that each is self-contained, although its place within a larger framework in never in doubt. Of the two, Brayan's Gold is my favourite, so let's start there.

Brayan's Gold tells of Arlen's first mission, the first time he has to spend more than two nights outside since his perilous journey to Miln. I was surprised at how much of Arlen's character Brett has managed to pack into such a short story, and still have...

Divider

Jul 02
Black Sun Light My Way by Jo Spurrier

Black Sun Light My Way by Jo Spurrier

Reviews 1 ★★★★★

This book should be entitled “The Impossible Choices Plaguing my Favourite Characters, and the Heartache that Ensues.” Sierra, Isidro, Cam, Mira and Rasten were all put through so much throughout Black Sun Light My Way, it was kind of a relief when the book ended! I thought the strongest element…

Divider

Jun 11
The Desert Spear by Peter V. Brett

The Desert Spear by Peter V. Brett

Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Peter V. Brett said he has no problem with this review appearing in fuchsia. So, here it is, in all its pink glory. Why has it taken me so long to read the second instalment of The Demon Cycle? I loved The Painted Man, I ended it eager to start…

Divider

May 23
Valley of Shields by Duncan Lay

Valley of Shields by Duncan Lay

Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Date published: 1st April 2013 Publisher: HarperCollinsPublishers AU Format: Paperback, 560 pages Series: Empire of Bones, Book 2 ISBN 13: 9780732294199 ISBN 10: 0732294193 Categories: Fantasy Goodreads / Booktopia / Bookworld Source: provided by publisher for review Challenge: Australian Writer’s Reading Challenge Cast out from his homeland, Sendatsu has used his sword-fighting talents to survive in…

Divider

May 21
The Ward by Jordana Frankel

The Ward by Jordana Frankel

Reviews 0 ★★

The idea behind this book is interesting, and I think I could have enjoyed it a lot more if it didn’t suffer from the weird, stilted romance, and the shaky world building. The Ward is a dystopian novel that takes mixes two staples of mankind’s story-telling – the Great Flood…

Divider

Apr 25
The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Reviews 0 ★★★★★

I’ve had this book for a long time, and I didn’t read it because I was sick of dystopias. But once I started it, less than 24 hours ago, I couldn’t put it down. Lots of novels these days get tagged “perfect for fans of The Hunger Games” and usually, it’s…

Divider

Apr 15
Between the Lives by Jessica Shirvington

Between the Lives by Jessica Shirvington

Reviews 3

Date published: 1st May 2013 Publisher: HarperCollins Australia Format: Paperback, 327 pages ISBN 13: 9780732296261 ISBN 10: 0732296269 Categories: YA Fantasy Goodreads / Booktopia / Bookworld Source: provided for review by the publisher Challenge: Australian Women Writers Challenge 2013 Above all else, though I try not to think about it, I know which life I prefer. And every night when…

Divider

Feb 28
Boundless by Cynthia Hand

Boundless by Cynthia Hand

Reviews 0

Date published: 1st February 2013 Publisher: HarperCollins AU Format: Paperback, 448 pages Series: Unearthly, Book 3 ISBN 13: 9780732292621 Categories: YA Fantasy – Angels Goodreads / Booktopia / Bookworld Source: purchased The past few years held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner ever could have anticipated. Yet through the dizzying high of first love to the agonizing low…

Divider

Feb 11
Endlessly by Kiersten White

Endlessly by Kiersten White

Reviews 0

Date published: 2nd August 2012 Publisher: Harper Collins AU Format: Paperback, 389 pages Series: Paranormalcy, Book 3 ISBN 13: 9780007390175 ISBN10: 0007390173 Categories: YA – Other Paranormal Goodreads / Booktopia / Bookworld Source: borrowed from library Evie’s paranormal past keeps coming back to haunt her. A new director at the International Paranormal Containment Agency wants to drag her back…

Divider

Jan 16
The Iron King by Maurice Druon

The Iron King by Maurice Druon

Reviews 0 ★★★★★

I hate the word unputdownable. I really do. But I’m going to use it, because that’s exactly what The Iron King is: terribly difficult to put down once the cover is cracked. I shouldn’t be surprised as the series comes highly recommended by none other than George R. R. Martin…

Divider

Dec 19
Beastly by Alex Flinn

Beastly by Alex Flinn

Reviews 3

Date published: 8th February 2011 Publisher: HarperTeen Format: Paperback, Movie Tie-in Edition, 304 pages Series: Kendra Chronicles, Book 1 ISBN 13: 9780061963285 ISBN 10: 0061963283 Categories: YA – Other Paranormal Goodreads / The Book Depository / Booktopia / Bookworld Source: bought Love is never ugly I am a beast. A beast! Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new…

Divider