Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books

Divider

Tyrant’s Throne by Sebastien de Castell

Tyrant’s Throne by Sebastien de Castell

January 23, 2021 Reviews 0 ★★

A quartet that should've been a trilogy, the Greatcoats series concludes with Tyrant's Throne, a repetitive, drawn-out mess that managed to make a war boring. The most ridiculous aspect of this book (and it was a struggle to pick one) is that none of the characters has learned anything. They face the same problems, make the same decisions, and wonder why they face the same failures. Falcio, in particular, continues to be an utter fool. There was little to no growth on his side, and in the end, his foolish outlook was rewarded. And the main conflict in the book...

Divider

Saint’s Blood by Sebastien de Castell

Saint’s Blood by Sebastien de Castell

December 28, 2020 Reviews 0 ★★★

In Saint’s Blood, the third instalment of the Greatcoats series, our heroes Falcio, Kest and Brasti struggle to save their country from an ever-growing threat.┬áTheir enemies are smarter and stronger, the world is darker, and the stakes have never been higher. While enjoyable, this book felt repetitive and confused, and like the main characters, I mostly felt tired while reading it.

Divider

Knight’s Shadow by Sebastien de Castell

Knight’s Shadow by Sebastien de Castell

December 26, 2020 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Knight’s Shadow is a darker, more twisted tale than Traitor’s Blade, but I thoroughly enjoyed where de Castell is taking his heroes. A highly entertaining read that I recommend to those who enjoy a good adventure.

Divider

Divider

Marked by Sue Tingey

Marked by Sue Tingey

February 3, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★

I feel oddly duped by Marked. I was expecting a paranormal-urban fantasy with some detective/crime vibes, and what I got was a paranormal romance that reminded me of the Merry Gentry books by Laurell K. Hamilton.

Divider

Divider

Divider

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

December 28, 2014 Reviews 4 ★★★★½

City of Stairs is an outstanding example of fantasy literature that I have enjoyed immensely. Well-plotted and vividly imagined, Bennett takes readers into a world full of magic, political strife, and (occasionally) murder.

Divider

Blood Will Follow by Snorri Kristjansson

Blood Will Follow by Snorri Kristjansson

December 11, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Blood Will Follow is a solid second novel and I have enjoyed it. Fans of Gemmell will devour Kristjansson’s books, and I think they’re perfect for fantasy readers who are looking for something new to read. Vikings, mythology, politics, and swords – what could go wrong?

Divider

Binary by Stephanie Saulter

Binary by Stephanie Saulter

December 2, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

The sequel to Gemsigns has blown me away. Binary is grander and more sophisticated than its predecessor, but lacks none of its heart and brilliance. Binary accomplishes what few sequels do in surpassing its predecessor in every way.

Divider

The Child Eater by Rachel Pollack

The Child Eater by Rachel Pollack

October 17, 2014 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

The Child Eater is a fantastical story about two boys, born in different worlds and centuries apart, who are bound together by magic and fate, and a monstrous creature known only as The Child Eater. He has preyed on generations of children and their ghostly voices cry out for help, cry out for someone to end their curse.

Divider