Source: Publisher

Divider

Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier

Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier

January 27, 2021 Reviews 0 ★★★

Dreamer's Pool is a grim but atmospheric novel that weaves magic and mystery into a vivid tale in a medieval setting. Blackthorn and Grim are an unlikely pair, making a new start at the edge of a forest after escaping prison.

Although I usually enjoy Marillier's novels, the narration in this one kept me at arms-length from the action. I felt detached from the story for at least two-thirds of the novel. In part, this is because the three POV characters -- each flawed in some way -- were difficult for me to connect with. They lacked depth and failed...

Divider

Divider

Saint’s Blood by Sebastien de Castell

Saint’s Blood by Sebastien de Castell

December 28, 2020 Reviews 0 ★★★

In Saint’s Blood, the third instalment of the Greatcoats series, our heroes Falcio, Kest and Brasti struggle to save their country from an ever-growing threat. Their enemies are smarter and stronger, the world is darker, and the stakes have never been higher. While enjoyable, this book felt repetitive and confused, and like the main characters, I mostly felt tired while reading it.

Divider

Knight’s Shadow by Sebastien de Castell

Knight’s Shadow by Sebastien de Castell

December 26, 2020 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Knight’s Shadow is a darker, more twisted tale than Traitor’s Blade, but I thoroughly enjoyed where de Castell is taking his heroes. A highly entertaining read that I recommend to those who enjoy a good adventure.

Divider

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

March 18, 2019 Reviews 0 ★★★★

The third instalment in this series begins almost immediately where The Mime Order left off – with Paige coming to grips with the deception that had been revealed to her. But her tenuous grip on the Mime Order and uneasy alliance with there Rephaim leave her with very little time to recover, especially when a new threat is revealed.

Divider

Blog Tour: Freeks by Amanda Hocking

Blog Tour: Freeks by Amanda Hocking

February 6, 2017 Blog Tour 0

Hi! I’m sharing a short QnA with Amanda Hocking today, who is the author of many awesome books including the upcoming Freeks. But first, a little about the book: QnA with Amanda Hocking Out of all the characters you’ve ever written, are there any standout characters you would revisit if…

Divider

To the Sea by Christine Dibley

To the Sea by Christine Dibley

January 22, 2017 Reviews 0 ★★★★

A gorgeous contemporary novel set in Tasmania, To the Sea was the perfect holiday read for me. Told in multiple points of view over the days between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, it conveys a beautiful story spanning generations.

Divider

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

January 16, 2017 Reviews 1 ★★★★½

I devoured Windwitch. It was almost impossible to put down from the very first page!! I think this series is perfect for fans of YA fantasy and a must read for anyone who enjoyed Truthwitch.

Divider

Divider

Those Below by Daniel Polansky

Those Below by Daniel Polansky

December 31, 2016 Reviews 0 ★★★★

I love this world, I love these characters, and I’m sad that it’s over. A fresh take on some old tropes, The Empty Throne duology is perfect for readers who are looking for something new in the genre.

Divider

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

July 24, 2016 Reviews 1 ★★★★★

The first book in The Nevernight Chronicle, Nevernight is the kind of book you line up for. It’s a superbly crafted story that had me hooked from the very first chapter.

Divider